Another Day Spent at the Clinic

I hate the way the word clinic sounds. Still, I take my son to a Club Foot clinic. I respect the doctor we see, he knows his stuff about Club Foot. He was able to identify my son’s foot as atypical on first sight. By the time I got to his “clinic” I already knew my son was atypical. http://www.mdorthopaedics.com/images/complex_proofs.pdf helped me self diagnose.

Although I respect my son’s NYC doctor, the wait there is for hours. Every. Single. Time. Today I got there at 11am and wasn’t seen until after 2pm. The doctor looked at his foot and wasn’t sure why his Ponseti bar’s Mitchell boots were set at differing angles from one another. “He’s unilateral, right, atypical,” I explained. We’ve been seeing this doctor every four weeks for the past six months, but he doesn’t remember us. We’re only a number at the clinic.

My son is doing well, thankfully. I know this from consulting regularly with the doctor who we drove to Iowa to see, Dr. M. After 13 casts that either slipped or fell off I took my son to the best in the business, and yes, Iowa is Oz for Clubfoot. Emerald City. Not Ohio. Not Idaho. Iowa. Think it’s crazy to leave NYC to go to Iowa to see a doctor? So did I. Ponseti treatment originated there and it thrives there.

I’m frustrated. I’m mad for my kid and every other Clubfoot kid that has to wait hours to see a doctor who doesn’t remember them. I’m annoyed for every parent who knows more about Clubfoot than plenty of doctors practicing on children as if they’re guinea pigs. The doctor at the clinic is not included in those trial by fire doctors. His associate, I’m not so sure about. Either way, a major change is needed. I left there today wanting to explode! I shared information with some other parents, while they waited, and directed them to good Internet Clubfoot information. I preached the word of Ponseti. I still left unsatisfied. My son went into size 1 boots today. He’s my Superman, but the Clubfoot community needs a lot of saving. I’m strapping the S to my chest too. Mom on a mission.

20140128-224311.jpg

Leave a Reply

